for violin, clarinet, and piano
14 minutes


  1. 1. Introduction; sospìrándo ad libitum
  2. 2. Presto; risveliáto e energicaménte

Program Note

Composed between the summer of 2005 and spring of 2006, the sketches for this work began in the last weeks of a month-long stay in Bulgaria. While in Bulgaria I worked with many musicians, but was particularly inspired by a young Bulgarian violinist. I wanted to write a piece that could describe what I had experienced but did not wish to be programmatic; therefore I decided to be less referential in conveying what I had experienced in a country that inspired me – hence the “abstraction” of the title. The work itself is in two movements, a sospìrándo introduction moving immediately (attacca) into a lively Presto.